A History of the Todd-Dickey Rural Training Parish

The Todd-Dickey Rural Training Parish consisted of 13 churches in Clark, Jefferson and Scott Counties. The churches were: Charlestown, Miller’s Chapel, Mt. Lebanon, Henryville, Otisco, Nabb, Owen Creek, New Market, New Washington, Bethlehem, Hebron, Sharon Hill, and Lexington. This history was assembled and published in print form by the Presbytery of New Albany in 1963. Digital […]

Hoosier Zion

The early settlers of Indiana, mostly from the back-country South, regarded the first Presbyterian missionaries in the state as outlanders and agents of eastern culture. Suffering under this handicap as well as from bitter strife within the denomination, the ministers showed remarkable zeal in working toward their goal of upgrading the settler’s material life, improving […]